Competing Shadow

 

I stared at you and you seem so distant.

You look at me but you don’t really see.

I wondered what your thoughts were.

Were they about me or the shadow behind me?

 

You stood from where you were sitting,

took a step and started walking.

I followed at your back and still wondering,

were they about me or the shadow behind me?

 

I stopped but you didn’t notice,

along the curve you continued walking.

I embraced my heart as it started raining,

were they about me or the shadow behind me?

 

I run towards the curve

dumbfounded and confused,

then I watch you stood there in the rain crying.

Were they about me or the shadow behind me?

 

From where you were standing,

Is a name engraved in the stone.

From where her bones are sleeping, your heart was pouring.

They were not about me, but for the shadow behind me.

-vera-

Leave a Reply

